ARB Moreton Island Fishing Classic

It is with great sadness we announce that, due to having no major sponsor for 2020, the Moreton Island Fishing Classic will not be proceeding in 2020.

MIA, ARB and all of our sponsors would like to thank all the wonderful entrants who have made the previous classics such a fantastic success!

Still keen for a comp?

You’re in luck! We’re running a fishing photo comp alongside ARB for the month of August! Just take a pic or video of you and your best catch on Moreton Island and use the tag #bestcatch2020 (and tag @moretonislandadventures and @arb4x4) on Facebook or Instagram to go in the running to win an ARB fridge valued at $1,900, a Glamping holiday at Castaways AND a cash prize of $200!!

Can’t wait to see your pics!

  • 2019 ARB Moreton Island Fishing Classic – Wrap Up


    Well the 2019 Moreton Island ARB fishing classic started with a bang! From the stunning weather, to the prawn peeling competitions, free Billabongs for the kids, amazing random draw prizes and sausage sizzle, most were happy to wait to throw in a line!

    Massive thanks goes to:

    • Our wonderful sponsors for supplying around 60k worth of prizes! With 350 entrants, random draw and mystery weight prizes, you didn’t need to be a pro to take home some amazing gear!
    • Dean Miller (Campr) and Andrew Mirosch for making this years’ classic unforgettable with hilarious commentary, calamari, prawn and fish cooking lessons (thanks for the delicious recipes Andrew!) and loads of fishing tips. We’ll be tuning into Campr for the Fishing classic episode!
    • Mead Murphy for being a fantastic judge and wealth of information as always; and
    • Last but not least, our own Jan Robbins and the Castaways team for organising the comp. This is a monstrous job, and as per usual, everything went off without a hitch.

    Final Results


      1st   2nd   3rd  
    Whiting Martin Cowling 0.540 Martin Cowling 0.530 Edouard Johansen 0.480
    Bream John Longhurst 0.950 Eddie McCormack 0.910 Chris Wallace 0.860
    Tailor Peter Watts 2.820 Ashley Cowling 2.690 Dean White 2.360
    Dart Nick Edwards 0.640 Jarrod Grobe 0.610 Ronnie Grobe 0.610
    Flathead Ashley Cowling 2.820 Dean Middleton 1.97 Steve Andreasson 0.700
    Mulloway Jamie Laurie 8.530 Jason Malachevsky 7.790 Jayden Bussian 7.470


    Whiting Hunter Longhurst 0.420
    Flathead Hunter Longhurst 1.040
    Bream Miles Wallace 0.680
    Tailor Tyrhys Falau 1.560
    Dart Thomas Borger 0.540

    Mystery Fish Overall:

    Dart Hannah Sorenson 0.340
    Bream Michael Young 0.309
    Flathead Terry Haigh 0.840
    Whiting Steve Andreassen 0.150
    Tailor Shannon Spiers 0.990
    Mulloway Ray Hatch 6.380
    • Day 1 Results


      Whiting Chris Wallace 0.420
      Flathead Ashley Cowling 2.820
      Bream Chris Wallace 0.860
      Tailor Peter Watts 2.820
      Dart Ronnie Grobe 0.560
      Mulloway Jason Malachevski 7.79


      Whiting Miles Wallace 0.250
      Bream Hunter Longhurst 0.490
      Tailor Ashton Smith 1.120
      Dart Miles Wallace 0.380

      Mystery Fish:

      Flathead Jarrod Grobe 0.890
    • Day 2 Results


      Whiting Martin Cowling 0.530
      Flathead Dean Middleton 1.97
      Bream Nick Edwards 0.550
      Tailor Rodney Keevers 2.140
      Dart Nick Edwards 0.640 
      Mulloway Jamie Laurie  8.530


      Whiting Miles Wallace 0.360
      Flathead Hunter Longhurst 1.040
      Bream Miles Wallace 0.550
      Tailor Thomas Borger 1.190
      Dart Thomas Borger 0.430

      Mystery Fish:

      Whiting Eddie McCormack 0.180
    • Day 3 Results


      Whiting Edouard Johansen 0.480
      Flathead James Brown 0.670
      Bream John Longhurst 0.950
      Tailor Ashley Cowling 2.690
      Dart Jarrod Grobe 0.610
      Mulloway Jayden Bussian 7.470


      Whiting Hunter Longhurst 0.410
      Bream Thomas Borger 0.560
      Tailor Thomas Borger 0.840
      Dart  Thomas Borger 0.540

      Mystery Fish:

      Dart Hannah Sorenson 0.340


  • 2018 ARB Moreton Island Fishing Classic – Wrap Up

    Thanks to everyone who helped to make this year’s Classic a huge success.This year we introduced a “Mystery” fish prize which gave everyone a chance to win a prize. The fish species and weight was decided each day for the following day’s fishing.

    Congratulations to all of our winners:


      1st   2nd   3rd  
    Whiting Phillip Price 0.510 Joel Sharplin 0.430 Noel Brauer 0.410
    Dart Peter Watts 0.860 Michael Flanagan 0.680 Brendan Sheales 0.620
    Bream Mark Sorenson 0.960 Andrew Leoner 0.930 Steve Hunter 0.770
    Flathead Chris Hungerford 2.240 Danny Hughsman 1.890 Len Hargreaves 1.910
    Tailor Gary Enkeman 2.540 Kane Maley 2.170 John Charteris 2.796
    Mulloway Kane Maley 10.40 Brett McKenzie 9.510 Gary Enkleman 8.510
    Dart Karen Schweitzer 0.310
    Whiting Carol Brauer 0.200
    Bream Linda Hicks 0.360
    Whiting 2 Vrowena Lawrie 0.13


      1st   2nd   3rd  
    Whiting Hunter Longhurst 0.340 Hunter Longhurst 0.310 Hunter Longhurst 0.280
    Dart Hunter Longhurst 0.550 Tyler Dymock 0.475 Max Miller 0.460
    Bream Tyler Dymock 0.550 Hunter Longhurst 0.490 Shaylea Howard 0.440
    Flathead Hunter Longhurst 0.480        
    Tailor Riley Howard 1.040 Riley Howard 0.960 Max Miller 0.930
    Dart Matthew Davies 0.200
    Whiting Shaylea Howard 0.130
    Bream Riley Weldon 0.400

    “Like” our facebook page for important event updates and photos!

    Some photos from the 2018 comp:

    Campr at the 2018 ARB Moreton Island Fishing Classic:

  • 2017 ARB Moreton Island Fishing Classic – Wrap Up

    Thanks to everyone who helped to make this year’s Classic a huge success.  This year we had 362 registered competitors, a record number for the competition, all vying for some amazing prizes and a whole lot of cash!Congratulations to all of our winners:


      1st   2nd   3rd  
    Whiting Warren Borger 0.520 Martin Cowling 0.506 Martin Cowling 0.474
    Dart Lee Miller 0.732 Loy Petrie 0.674 Kathryn Young 0.614
    Bream Jamie Laurie 1.114 Jamie Laurie 1.046 Ian Williams 0.794
    Flathead Mitchell Cowling 2.524 Steven Timms 2.430 Greg Willey 2.278
    Tailor Warren Bell 3.320 Jason Grundy 3.090 Kane Maley 2.796
    Mulloway Karl Belzner 6.462 Brett McKenzie 4.978    


    Whiting Hunter Longhurst 0.396
    Dart Thomas Conlon 0.588
    Bream Hunter Longhurst 0.622
    Flathead Hunter Longhurst 1.268
    Tailor Ethan Grundy 1.698

    “Like” our facebook page for important event updates and photos!